skip navigation

NCAA Information College Bound Student

What is the NCAA?

The NCAA, or National Collegiate Athletic Association, was
established in 1906 and serves as the athletics governing body
for more than 1,300 colleges, universities, conferences and
organizations. The national office is in Indianapolis, Indiana, but the
member colleges and universities develop the rules and guidelines
for athletics eligibility and athletics competition for each of the
three NCAA divisions. The NCAA is committed to the studentathlete
and to governing competition in a fair, safe, inclusive and
sportsmanlike manner.
The NCAA membership includes: • 346 active Division I members; • 291 active Division II members; and • 439 active Division III members.
One of the differences among the three divisions is that colleges
and universities in Divisions I and II may offer athletics scholarships,
while Division III colleges and universities do not.
For more information about the NCAA or its members, please visit

NCAA's Clearing House Article

NCAA's Clearinghouse Rules - Who's Looking Out for the Student-Athlete? (Article)

Superstar or not - Grades Matter